The Schwinn Caliente Bike (bought on May 6, 1990) Stolen

Just when I think my son and I are getting along.  Just when I am tolerant of his sloppy room (smelly also from dirty clothes and cigarettes) BOOM something like this has to happen. 

I am 58 and soon to be 59.  I got pregnant when I was 37 and now my only child is 21+ I had 10 speeds all my life and I paid for them all.  I rode this Schwinn until my 8th month of pregnancy.  I gained quite a bit with the pregnancy…anyway..I rode the bike occasionally during those 21 years but not too much as of late….the last time being about 6 years ago.   Anyway, my son had cars and cars and cars…all crappy.  He sold/traded, etc and now he has another one…I don’t want anything to do with it.  Anyway when he was between cars and the weather was hot this past Summer (2012) he decided (without asking me) to fix up my bike and make it ride able.  He was surprised how fast it could go…being as he was used to mountain bikes.  This bike although American made was an English racer, right down to the Rams Horns handle bars.   Oh yeah he fixed it up fine and it made me happy to see him ride it cause I knew he would get some good kudos out of it and then it would be my turn to ride it again.  And I could not wait for the days to cool down and for me to get my nerve on to actually go out and ride again.

Today, I went looking in the basement and in the back porches and yard for my bike.   My son has a car now and he went to work early in the am.   I could find it nowhere…Being very distraught I tried to contact him at work with no success.

 

I finally ran into our neighbor who is about 3 or 4 years older than my son and I asked him, since he went biking with my son, if he had any idea of where my son left my bike.

 

Then the shock…He was laughing  all the while he was telling me my son left the bike UNLOCKED in the yard 3 days ago (this is a 3 flat with 7 apartments and some seedy characters tend to roam around here) and yeah it was stolen….

 

My heart felt like it was gonna explode.  Not only did my son do the obvious no no…he did not have enough respect for me to tell me about it.   I had to go and look for it and like a fool come up short.  I don’t even care about all that.  And if the bike got stolen on my watch I would probably be even more upset…but it was the fact that he did not come to me when it happened…I had to call the cops 3 days later and report it stolen.  I have the papers on it and the Model and Serial #’s.  But idk…I am just so disappointed in him and said…I had to vent so I am writing this on here….He says he’ll get me another bike, but it won’t be the same…I really had to save for that one and it was a sacrifice getting it…and now the only bike I ever had that didn’t get stolen, finally got stolen….so so so so so sad.  and my birthday is just around the corner…that just might be another letdown…as most of the others were.  arguing and fighting and dis respectfulness….but no..i am not speaking to him…i cannot even look at him…he really did it this time.

About godslittlekitty

Just a simple, single mom to a 24 1/2 yr. old son, who has now 4 year old son, (my only grandson). I love the Lord because He first loved me. I am reborn and redeemed. (Feb 5 2016)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Schwinn Caliente Bike (bought on May 6, 1990) Stolen

  1. CATHY says:

    I AM SO, SO SORRY… I KNOW OVER THE FEW YEARS OF THE PROBLEMS YOU HAVE HAD WITH YOUR SON… I WOULD BE JUST AS MAD ABOUT IT AS YOU ARE MAYBE MORE. MY KIDS CONTINUE TO HIDE THINGS FROM ME TOO AND THAT MAKES ME MAD THAT THEY DON’T SEEM TO COME TO ME WITH THIS STUFF… I TELL THEM I AM MADDER WHEN THEY DON’T TELL ME THAN WHEN THEY DO AND THAT JUST DOES NOT MATTER TO THEM… I AM SO SORRY SIS ABOUT THE BIKE I KNOW HOW IT FEELS TO LOSE STUFF YOU HAVE HAD FOR YEARS… MINE HAVE HOCKED MY STUFF AND NEVER GET IT BACK AND I DON’T KNOW TILL IT’S GONE. I’M WITH YA AND PRAYING FOR YOU AND YOUR SON.

Leave a Reply

